CyberJAMZ Forums  
  #1  
Old 06-03-2007, 05:32 PM
techy's Avatar
techy techy is offline
Sharp az a Razah ..
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brooklyn, USA
Posts: 293
Exclamation Broadcasters: Ping the server

To all broadcasters having connection problems you may want to ping the server and see how your response time to the server is doing before taking any other steps. To ping the server please do the following:

1. [Windows Key] + [R] (Windows key has the windows logo)
2. type 'cmd' and then hit the [Enter] key
3. a black 'dos' box opens up
4. type 'ping 209.85.22.6' then [Enter]

You'll see the resulting ping lines from the resulting query:

Code:
Pinging 209.85.22.6 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 209.85.22.6: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=114
Reply from 209.85.22.6: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=114
Reply from 209.85.22.6: bytes=32 time=49ms TTL=114
Reply from 209.85.22.6: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=114

Ping statistics for 209.85.22.6:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 49ms, Maximum = 51ms, Average = 50ms
What you are looking for is the last line that says 'Average = xxms'

This number should be less then 100ms. If you are getting 'high latency' or ping times higher than 100ms then you should contact your ISP for outages in your area or reboot your cable or dsl modem. In fact, if you're getting high latency times, your first step should be to reboot your cable or dsl modem. You can accomplish this by simply unplugging it from the electrical connection and reconnecting after about a minute. Then proceed to reboot your PC to refresh your IP and try the ping test again. If you're still experiencing high latency the network might be having a slow-up. This is usually NOT the case but it does happen. Wait around 1/2 and hour and see if the situation clears up. In most cases it will.

You can also try a speed test here:
http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest

They do a reverse 'ping' and a speed test at the same time. If you're speed isn't what your ISP has set as 'norm' then they might be having technical issues. Please contact them for resolution.

Thanks,

Techy
__________________
Check out the new undergroundNYC! Now ready for the next decade of musical power!!!! http://undergroundnyc.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2007, 01:07 PM
techy's Avatar
techy techy is offline
Sharp az a Razah ..
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brooklyn, USA
Posts: 293
Lightbulb additional tips for cable modem users

For cable modem users, make sure your line comes right from the pole or is a single connection from the junction box and is not split or shared. For best results, you can request that your Internet line and your TV lines are separated from each other. This gives the best results.

However, if this is not possible, then make sure the line you're using come direct from the junction box and is not an output on a splitter. If you get a line split and you connect your cable modem to it, you're assuring the modem will target down to the slowest connection possible because split lines add noise and lower the db. Also, if you must split your line between your cable modem and TV connection, the best splitter is a two output splitter. Anymore outputs than that will give you a lower db rating and degrade your connection speed frequently cutting you off from the CJ server.

IMO, the best splitter out there for CATV is the Monster 5 - 1000mHz splitter:

__________________
Check out the new undergroundNYC! Now ready for the next decade of musical power!!!! http://undergroundnyc.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.